Liftoff!

And we are well on our way!!

I’m writing this as I sit in the Toronto Airport… killing some of the five-hour layover that I have before we take the big jump across the pond to Switzerland. Let’s just say that today is possibly one of the longest days I’ve had for a quite a while. And we still have a 9 hour flight left.

Let’s not talk about that.

Let’s talk about yesterday instead.

We left home at some point around 2 in the afternoon. My flight left Winnipeg this morning at 6:40, so we drove up to Winnipeg to spend the night and visit some of my mom’s relatives (that’s right Gwen. I’m talking about you and your family. 🙂 ). And it was so much fun. For some reason, we never make it up to Canada that often, even though we live twenty minutes from the Boarder. So that means my siblings and I don’t know my mom’s cousins that well. But it was still a blast to see Gwen and her family and Aunt Sue and Uncle Jack. If nothing else, it was just more confirmation for me that I was doing what God was asking me to do. They were all so encouraging and supportive, I was a little overwhelmed. Throughout all of the preparations for this trip, I felt like I would tend to loose sight of what I was actually doing. I mean, this isn’t a vacation. I’m going to learn and serve the Lord and follow Him where He calls me. And last night was just a great reminder of that. There is no doubt in my mind that I am right where I’m supposed to be.

My sister and I stayed up until about 1:30 this morning and we woke up at 4 to get ready to go to the airport. Factoring in the time that it took me to fall asleep, that means I only got about two hours of sleep last night. That was fantastic. (Not.) Bloodshot eyes? Oh yeah. That’s cute. But I don’t regret it for a minute. (Yet, anyways.) I’m hoping I’ll be able to sleep at least a little more on the plane.

Then we drove to the airport. Checking in my bags went smoothly, so that was a blessing. But then came time to say goodbye.

Woof.

I didn’t want to get emotional. I didn’t want to cry. But of course, it was inevitable. Most definitely the hardest part of the day so far. Let’s be real. No matter how much you mentally prepare yourself, you’re never going to be ready to say goodbye to the people that you’ve literally spent everyday of the last four months with. I’d be lying if I told you that I didn’t wish they were all here with me. But then I just have to think back to this summer and that day when I ask God to take us on adventure. Just the two of us. I just think about that and it makes me feel better. I love sharing a plane seat with Jesus. And I love watching Him orchestrate everything. (Because He’s good at it. And I’m not.)

Flying? I’m pretty sure I love it. Ask me again after I’m stuck in my seat for 9 hours, but for the moment, I love it. Oh yeah, that whole chew-gum-while-flying thing? Yeah it’s legit. Because as soon as the plane started to take off, I wished I had had some gum with me. Needless to say, I bought some at the first little store I found here in Toronto.

I want to thank each one of you for your prayers. They mean so much. That’s the main thing that’s holding me together right now, just knowing that I have a sold group of prayer warriors back home covering this trip. I am so thankful for and love you all dearly.

Also, side note.

There is a bird in the airport.

Inside the building.

It almost landed on me.

#nbd.

2 thoughts on “Liftoff!

  1. We were just talking about you today, Courtney. Enjoy the adventure, while you study God’s word. You will come back a different person, in a wonderful way. Touched by God, used by him, open to his leading. We will keep you covered in prayer ! Flying is fun! No one feels rested after those long flights, so no worries there! Carol

    Like

  2. Yay you successfully navigated 2 airports on your very first time flying! Smart cookie – knew you’d rock this one!!! Not to mention HE is with you each step of the way! It was an absolute pleasure, privilege and delight to spend your final evening in North America with you and your wonderful siblings and parents. Got to spend a wee bit more time with them today (Saturday) too… they were upbeat but I know they miss you a lot already!

    Please keep us all posted as much as possible and lets not let the darn border stop us from future and more frequent visits. 90 miles is really close and yet we aren’t making this short trek! Ah yes new year, new goals right?

    Love you & we are praying for you as you follow this path.
    Gwen & her guys!

    Like

Leave a Reply

