YWAM Davos – Week 1

I’ve been in Switzerland for almost a full week.

Crazy.

But it’s true. And I just wanted to let you all know how I’m doing, just in case the cold weather in Minnesota isn’t enough entertainment for you.

So, I arrived in Zurich Saturday morning, at about 6:30 AM. From there, I met up with Reto (the director here at YWAM Davos) and four other students. We crammed all of our stuff (although, lets be real… I had the most stuff) into the little trailer attached to Reto’s mini van and took off across the Swiss countryside (more or less) towards Davos. It was a two and an half hour trip, and I had only slept maybe 5 out of the past 24 hours (that wasn’t even counting the 7 hours of precious life that the time change sucked out of me). As much as I wanted to stay awake to watch the beautiful scenery whip past my window at 70 kph, it was a loosing battle. I kept jerking my head up maybe every 15 minutes or so and trying to force myself to stay awake, but my eyes just couldn’t handle it. You know that point when you just physically cannot keep your eyes open anymore and they just start rolling back into your head? Yep. That’s where I was.

And then… We were here! We pulled into the base and unloaded all of our luggage (Again, I had the most stuff by far. Do you know how embarrassing it is to have people offering to carry things for you and then watching them try to lug your 55+ pound suitcase up a narrow, winding staircase?). I got everything shoved into my room and met my roommate, Aleah, and started unpacking.

Thankfully everything fit.

The rest is kind of a blur, to be honest. It’s been a blast, but so much has happened in the past 6 days. We went “shredding” on Sunday (that means skiing… or snowboarding, depending on what you ride) in the Alps… at a resort literally a 5 minute walk from the house. It was amazing. The snow… the view… and just being able to get to know the people I was going to be spending the next 6 months with. It was a super chill time. As far as the rest of the week went, we had the chance to hear all of the staff share their testimonies and then also to share our own. That was so great. I just love being able to hear peoples stories and understand a little bit of where they’re coming from. It just bonds a group so much faster, I think, when we have that chance to be vulnerable with each other so soon in the relationship. We also got to hear Reto and Judy’s heart for this base and we also had a time to decide for ourselves what we wanted to get out of this experience. The outreach locations were presented to us and we got to choose which location we felt God was leading us to. Overall, it’s been a whirlwind. But it’s been great and I’m super stoaked to see what the Lord has planned for each of us as this DTS continues.

I suppose I should tell you a little about the rest of the students. I told you about my roommate, Aleah, but we also have another girl coming (YAY!) on Tuesday this coming week and we’re super excited about that. Other than us, the other 5 students are boys (which, ironically, is the same girl/guy ratio that we’ve had at my house for the past many years. :)). That keeps life interesting, but it also lets Aleah and I bond more since we have to stick together and hold our own against the pack of boys here. 🙂

I think that covers just about everything!

Just a few thoughts in closing:

Jet lag sucks.
If you think you’re going to slice your finger on the side of your skis, you probably will (and it will bleed FOREVER).
Don’t think, just do. (Slightly contradictory to the statement above, but it is my life motto and it does come in handy at times – especially at the terrain park when you’re trying to push yourself.)
I actually like ice skating (and am not as terrible as I thought, if  I do say so myself.)

Also, I just want to thank everyone for praying. It really means a lot. For now, I’d appreciate prayer for our community as a whole. Just that we could grow together even more and bond like a real family and love each other as brothers and sisters in Christ.

p.s. I’ll try to update this once a week, but…. no promises. 🙂

One thought on “YWAM Davos – Week 1

  1. Sounds awesome Courtney! Prayers and best wishes! Jerry and i head to AZ in a few weeks to skip out on some of the MN craziness! Take care and enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

