Guys. It’s been four weeks.

I don’t know if I’ve conveyed this in my other posts, but Switzerland is amazing. Even without being able to go on the slopes, it’s just the perfect place to be. It’s so beautiful. Every day I’m blown away by how big and beautiful God is. It hits me so many times everyday. You guys. God is freaking awesome. Just in case you didn’t realize that. I wish I had more pictures to share with you, but unfortunately my photo taking device just so happens to be my phone. And in case you didn’t hear… it’s currently, uh, broken. (Toilet + iPhone = bad things. In case you were wondering.) Thankfully, it’s just the screen so I’m working on getting a new one to replace it. So hopefully sometime within the next couple of weeks, it’ll be working again. For now, if you feel the need to contact me, Facebook or email might be your best bet. πŸ™‚

Ok, first of all I just want to give you all an update on how my knee is doing. Just to recap, I ruptured my ACL, MCL, and disconnected my meniscus. (If you’re not really sure what all of that means…. I don’t either. Basically, my knee is kinda broken. That’s what I get out of all of this. πŸ˜‰ ) So at the beginning, my knee was really unstable and stiff. Now, the stiffness has gone down significantly and I can walk like a normal person – without a brace or crutches. Praise the Lord on that one! My Physio (Physical Therapist) told me that, for how bad my injury was, I’m doing really good. So that’s encouraging. All glory be to God on that one. I can’t control how fast my body heals. So God’s pretty great. πŸ™‚ My knee still isn’t completely stable, so I still have to be careful with it, but I can do most normal, everyday activities. I’m meeting with the doctor again tomorrow (Monday) to talk about surgery and potentially make an appointment for later in the week. So if you would just keep me in your prayers with that one, I would really appreciate that.

Alright. Now I’ll give you a recap of this week. Our speaker this week was from the Sunshine Coast YWAM base in Australia. Boris… that was his name, but I don’t think I ever caught his last name. πŸ™‚ But anyways, he was talking about the Fear of the Lord. A lot of what he said was really challenging for me. He talked about asking God to provide for our needs and at first I didn’t really connect with that topic. I just felt like I’d never really been in a place of need where I had to completely rely on God to provide for me. Maybe it’s just the Minnesota in me or the whole farmer mentality of if you need something, you work for it. And if you work hard enough, you’ll be able to accomplish or earn anything that you could ever need or want. But then Boris told a story about a pair of jeans. Along with working at the YWAM base, he also has a couple of board shops where he sells skateboards and other equipment and apparel stuff. In one of these stores, there was a pair of jeans that he really wanted. “I could have gone and just taken them,” he told us. “They were in my store; they already belonged to me. I really could have just grabbed them.” But he decided to ask God to give them to him instead. That caught my attention. I had never thought of asking God to give me something that I could have reached out and gotten myself. The best part of the story is the ending though. A couple of weeks later, one of the employees came up to Boris with the jeans he wanted and just asked him if he wanted them. The guy said he didn’t like the cut and how they fit, so Boris could have them if he wanted. That just blew my mind. It brought me back to the first week of lectures when one of the speakers talked about how God is a Good Dad. Why wouldn’t he give us what we ask for? He loves us. So I’m trying to learn to ask God to provide things that I need. It’s a journey, but I’m excited to see what will happen along the way.

I feel like this is a short post, but it’s a lazy Sunday afternoon here and I don’t think I can make myself talk anymore. πŸ™‚ So hopefully I’ll be more up to it next week!

Leave a Reply

