Crutches and Other Stuff

Guess what?!?!?!

The crutches are gone!! Done for! FOR. EV. ER. I only have one thing to say:

Praise Jesus.

But actually though. If you’ve never had to use crutches, I hope you never have to. They really aren’t that fun. You know how when you’re little you always want stuff like that? Like I wanted glasses for the longest time and then when I finally had to get them, they weren’t as fun as I thought they would be. (Actually, it’s kind of annoying to have to have something help you see. I envy all of those people out there who don’t have glasses or contacts. The little buggers.) Same goes for crutches. I always thought it would be fun to use them. I mean, just look at people with crutches! They like get to swing around and stuff and they just friggen cruise…. Or not. But they do make walking way more exciting. Legit, the most exciting thing in my life right now is walking up and down stairs like a normal person. But actually though.

So. That’s how I’m doing in the physical…. Easy enough to explain and easy enough to understand. However, if you were to ask me how I was doing other than my knee – how I was really doing – that’s a much harder question to answer. Over the past couple of weeks, I feel like I’ve become a completely new person. God’s been doing a complete overhaul on my heart for sure! I think I mentioned it in my last blog, but He’s just been bringing up things that I had thought I had worked through or that I had just buried deep enough to think that they didn’t bother me anymore. As He brings them up and brings me through the process of sorting them out and healing old hurts, I feel like a piece of my heart breaks a little bit – but in a good way (if that’s even a thing). I’ve told multiple people this multiple times: I feel so broken sometimes, but in that brokenness, there’s so much peace and freedom. It’s funny how God works, isn’t it? He brings us to the place where we feel the weakest so that He can show us His strength. But the great thing about it is, He is so much stronger and greater than I am.

But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.                                                                                                -2 Corinthians 12:9

Isn’t that great? Doesn’t that make life so much easier? We don’t have to be strong enough to “handle” all of the junk that comes our way or all of the hurts we have buried deep inside. I love what Paul has to say in the next verse.

That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.                     -2 Corinthians 12:10

It just takes off all of the pressure, you know? I feel like we as humans have this idea that we need to have everything together. Especially as Christians. We feel like we have to have this great story about how great God is all of the time and life is always good. Even if you blow your ACL at the beginning of the ski season and even when you feel like your life is spinning out of control. Maybe it’s just me, but I feel like I need to be strong all the time – especially when things aren’t going as planned. But that’s why I love these verses. My biggest strength is when I’m at my weakest point. How is that a thing? Because that’s when I stop relying on my own strength and let God do His own thing. And lets be real. That’s always way better anyways.

We only have two weeks left here on the base before outreach. And while that always makes me a little sad when I think about saying goodbye to half of my family here, I’m so pumped. I can’t wait to head to Bosnia and see what God has in store for my team! As far as funds go, we’re still missing about three grand, so if you would continue to pray that God would bring in that money soon, that would be awesome! And just pray for each outreach team: that we would grow together in unity and that God would prepare our hearts for what outreach will bring. Also, pray for the people that we will meet on outreach. Pray for opportunities to build relationships and share the hope we have in Christ with the people we meet. Thank you everyone for your support! It means more than you know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

