State Side

Well, Friends.

It’s been a while and this post is late in coming, but here it is:

I’m HOME.

grain fields & sunsets
grain fields & sunsets
the welcome home crew, including Gwen
the welcome home crew, including Gwen

The moment I’m sure my mother has been waiting for since January has finally come and gone. And I can truly say it is good to be home. Europe was beautiful, but there’s just something about being able to see forever or driving for hours and seeing the same fields, mile after mile. Maybe it is true. You can take the girl out of the country, but you can’t take the country out of the girl. I cannot begin to tell you how excited I got when my plane was flying into Winnipeg and I looked out my window and saw the country side cut into square sections. That’s how I knew I was really almost home. Good old farmland.

Like I said, this post is pretty overdue. I’ve been home for a month now. But life is funny that way. It really doesn’t wait for us to be ready before it takes off. It just doesn’t really stop. So it’s been a month full of craziness (which is completely my fault, to be honest). I spent six days at home and then turned right around and headed back to my summer home – Bluewater Bible Camp. After spending three summers on staff there, it’s pretty hard to keep me away. It’s been my “place” for 12 years. I love it there. And it was a lot of fun to get to spend a few weeks there again this summer, even if I couldn’t be on staff all summer.

that lake tho
that lake tho

To be completely honest, however, the three weeks I spent there were less than easy. It was strange to be there and yet not be technically “staff” and there we several other things the Lord was teaching me and speaking to me about while I was there. I don’t regret the time I spent at camp, but it wasn’t what I was expecting or hoping. There was healing in the time I spent there, and for that it was worth it. I needed to be reminded (yet again) that, when I felt like the worlds worst counselor or when I thought the things I said during devo times with my campers were pointless, I’m not the one who does the work. God is. He’s the one that touches hearts. He chooses to use us and our human imperfections and all of our brokenness, but when it comes right down to it, He is the one that makes the difference in hearts. No matter how much I stumble over my words when I share my testimony to ten 7-8th grade girls, Jesus still works in that. I don’t have to be perfect – thank goodness for that! I also needed to realize that God doesn’t need me at camp to work there. It was amazing to come in at the tail end of the summer and hear all of the stories the staff members had; to hear all about their God moments and all the ways that God had worked through them this summer. As I drove home, I had peace. I felt God saying that I could let it go and trust that He will keep doing the work there that I know He’s been doing for years.

To me, there’s so much freedom in that. Camp will always hold a special place in my heart. But I don’t have to be bound in it. I had three awesome summers at camp and I got to see God’s love touch campers the way it touched me so many years ago. I know that He’s going to keep on changing hearts and lives there. Knowing that gives me the freedom to follow where God calls me. I don’t have to limit Him to camp. And with that comes so much freedom and excitement. He can call me anywhere and I am free to go wherever that might be.

I had thought the adventure was coming to an end, but it’s just beginning. After months of prayer, I’ve decided to commit to spending a year at YWAM Davos as a member of their staff. What that means is that I’ll fly back to Switzerland at the end of October to begin staff training and a Leadership Training School. I’ll get a couple of weeks of for Christmas, and then it’s back to Davos to walk through the same DTS program I did this year with new students. That gets me so stoked! All I know is how much God rocked my world through DTS and I can’t wait to see Him do that for others. It’s going to be a crazy year, that’s for sure! Since YWAM is a non-profit organization, it’s employees don’t get paid. So that means I’ll be embarking on the support raising adventure again! This part always makes me nervous, but I just keep reminding myself that God is a good Dad and He takes good care of His children. He’s got this way more than I do. But, if you ask me, that’s exactly how it should be.

If you’re at all interested in making donations, feel free to send me an email (my email address is on the left side of the page). If that isn’t something that God is putting on your heart at this time, that’s totally ok! Please keep me in your prayers and if you would like to stay updated, subscribe to my blog and I’ll do my best to keep it as up-to-date as possible. šŸ™‚

To wrap up this post, I just wanted to share a video talking about the experience of DTS. This is just about two minutes of a few students (including yours truly) from this last years Snowboarders and Freeskiers DTS in Davos. It’s just a taste of how God rocked our worlds this last year.

And so.

The adventure continues…

Leave a Reply

