SFDTS 2016!

The first week of DTS has flown by!! Oh man… where to start?

Students arrived last Saturday, and we were more than stoked to welcome them in! It’s been a blast getting to know them, to hear their stories, and dream their dreams. I’ve had so many moment where I feel like I catch little glimpses of what God has in store for them, and it get me so excited. Each one of them is so special and I already love them all so much. I justĀ know that God is going to do amazing things. And on top of all of this, it’s been snowing practically non-stop this week. Can we say wa-pow?? We keep saying that this is going to be the best season ever – and not just for shredding. We believe that God is going to show up in crazy ways and make this DTS one to remember.

This week has felt like a month and a day, all at the same time. Looking back, it flew by. Yet in the moment, it felt like ages. Part of that has to do with the fact that I’ve never staffed a DTS before, and I (clearly) have no idea what I’m doing. So this week has been a week of lots of figuring things out. As Friday rolled around, I was exhausted. Not necessarily in a bad way, but just tired from a week full of figuring things out and building new relationships. I’ve realized that the most responsible thing I can do is intentionally spend time with Jesus. This week is a prime example of what happens if I don’t. I’ve had more than one realization of the fact that I have absolutely nothing to offer these students. The only thing I have is my relationship with God, and if I’m not going after that as much as I can, then I really have nothing to give. He is my source. Completely. And with Him, I’m never lacking. On my own however, I’m empty. The song “Never Run Dry” by Housefires has been on repeat in my brain.

With the beginning of a new school, it brings back all of the memories from my first week on DTS. I keep having flashbacks of bad accents and loud foosball matches. And as amazing as my time on DTS was, I’ve had to let go of a lot of things from that time. I’ve had to realize that I’m not a student anymore – which is exciting! It’s finally time to stand up on the things we’ve talked about and finally put it to work. I’ve had to say goodbye to my fellow students. Yet the days have been full of memories. Memories of those first few awkward days when no one really knows anybody, and yet you’re all sharing a house so you pretend that it’s normal. Nostalgia is a real thing. But I’m eagerly looking forward to what’s in store for this season. 2016 is going to be amazing. You could probably say it’s going to be bananas. So as this lazy Sunday continues, I’m sitting here getting stoked for the week ahead and all it’s going to hold – lectures, WEF, smiley cookies, and challenged comfort zones.

Also, chili.

Chili and cornbread and lots of good fellowship.

oh. And snow. Always more snow.

Leave a Reply

