Students are Cool

12525614_10153228644766951_2075832198000698193_o

Look at these kids. Aren’t they great??

It’s been three weeks and I already love them all so much. I think they’re pretty cool. And the things God has been teaching them are pretty cool too. They blow me away. I’ve seen them grow so much in the past three weeks and it just gets me so stoked to see what the rest of the DTS holds for them. I think I can say that it’s going to be crazier than their wildest dreams. And if you ask me, that’s a good thing.

So. What have we been up to?

Lots and lots.

It’s been two crazy weeks full of good lectures and off the chain programs. Last week, the World Economic Forum (WEF) was held here in Davos. The topic for lectures that week was Evangelism, which was awesome. After getting filled with tons of wisdom during lectures, we got to head out to the streets and work on practicing the things we learned in class. We brought back the smiley cookies. Hundreds and hundreds of them. So we armed ourselves with backpacks full of cookies and the love of Jesus in our hearts and hit the streets. The smiles people gave us matched the cookies we gave them. And even if the only thing we said was “here’s a cookie, Jesus loves you,” it was a lot of fun to see how that small gesture brought so much joy to so many people.

At the end of the week, we had a lot of stories of how we saw God move and the all the times we had the opportunity to pray for people and bless them. I was (and still am!) so proud of our students. They were so amazing! They all stepped out way beyond their comfort zones. It was a beautiful thing to see. And like I said, it just gets me so excited to see where else God will take them on this journey. I just know that if they’re willing to go for it right off the bat, God’s going to take them on some amazing journeys as this DTS continues. And I’m so honored to be able to say I have a small part in that growth and I’m just excited to watch God blow their minds more than He already has.

This past week was a doozy. The topic was Kingdom Culture and our speakers were Eric & Candace Johnson from Bethel Church in Redding, CA. They’re amazing. They blow my mind every time I hear them speak. I don’t think there was a session this week that didn’t shift the way I thought at least a little bit. It was awesome.

And exhausting.

But in a good way. I love having my way of thinking challenged because it gives me the opportunity to change it to line up more with what God thinks. One of the things Eric talked about what what Kingdom meant. Simply defined, it just means the king’s domain. And our job as Children of the King is to learn and understand how the King thinks and live that out. He talked about how people get offended by scripture and how that’s such a blessing. Because it means that we have the chance to line our thinking up with God. And when we can live that out, we help bring the Kingdom to earth just a little more.

This week was a great foundation week that other speakers will be able to build on. It’s just setting these students up for even more growth!

As far as leadership goes, I’m learning. It’s been a bit of a journey to find my feet, but I think I’m getting there. I just have to keep reminding myself that I have a whole team surrounding me and I’m not on my own. We as a staff are here to support each other and not to compete to see who’s the best or who can do the most work in a 24 hour period or whatever. We’re a family. We’re here to help each other when we need it. And I know that I need every other person on staff here this year. I know that God has brought us all here for a reason. He knew what talents and gifts each of us had to offer and He knew that we would all need each other. And I’m getting more and more excited to see how this adventure unfolds. It’s just going to get better and better the more we learn to work together and pull from others strengths.

In closing:

Prayer Requests — health for the base. We’ve had a nasty sickness running around the base and if you could pray for health that would be awesome.

Leave a Reply

