Somehow, half of lecture phase has flown by. Maybe it’s been the stellar line-up of speakers, but maybe it’s just because time flies when you’re having fun. It’s hard for me to tell. Either way, time has disappeared. And even thought I’m excited for outreach, my mom heart wants time to slow down. These students have stolen my heart and it’s been so much fun to watch them grow over the past 7 weeks. I kind of just want t0 stay here in this little house in the alps forever and ever. But I know that’s not how it works and that’s ok. I know that God has amazing things planned for the rest of this DTS. And dude. It’s going to be an amazing ride.

The past couple of weeks have been amazing. They’ve been all over the place, and yet God has been in them, connecting all of the little dots together into a beautiful (almost chaotic) picture. This last week I felt like I was kind of drowning in the world of YWAM DTS when I realized that I have no idea what’s going on with American Politics. And even though DTS feels like my entire world right now, I just felt God reminding me that there is so much more to life than DTS. It’s only 7 months. Which seven months in the span of a lifetime is not that big of a percentage. It can change someones life, totally. But it’s only seven months. And just realizing that allowed me to let go of some of the pressure I’d been putting on myself. I think I’ve been afraid of “screwing up” these students. And God just reminded me that that’s not my job. He’s the one that works in people’s lives and changes them forever. It’s not me. It doesn’t ride on my “performance” as a DTS staff. I’m trying to rest in the freedom of that.

Beyond that, the Holy Spirit has been doing some fun things here on the base. We’ve had more than one worship session that just keeps going for hours, when we can just hang out with each other and enjoy the presence of God. But my favorite story from this last week was one that isn’t really mine to tell, but I’m glad I got to see it.

This week, Thomas (one of the guys on staff) told us that his legs were different lengths. We had him sit down and pulled his legs out straight to see. Dude. This difference was actually kind of amazing. I’d say it was a solid inch different, if not a little more. Since we were all pretty hype on what God had been doing on the base lately, we just went for it. We wanted to see a miracle, so we just started praying and asking God to grow Thomas’s leg. And nothing crazy happened. I mean, it grew a little bit, but it didn’t grow out to be even with the other one. So we prayed again, but still nothing really happened. We were all still hyped that it grew a little bit and just felt like it wasn’t going to grow out completely then. But we all still believed and expected God to grow it at some point.

So for the next few days, we’d just pray whenever we remembered – during our staff meetings, after lectures, during meals, just whenever we thought about it. Then this past Thursday, after we lectures ended, Thomas left the classroom and came running back in a few seconds later. “Guysguysguysguysguys!!!” He was freaking out. “It grew!!!!” He sat down on the floor, back flat against the wall, legs straight out in front of him.

And they were the same length.

It might not seem like such a big deal. It might seem crazy and hard to believe. But for those of us who were involved, it just added to our stoke. We’ve been so ready and expectant for God to do crazy things. We’ve been asking for things like this to start happening in our community here at the base. We’ve been hungry for things like this. And even with a small story like this, we’ve just gotten super pumped to keep asking to see God do miracles and crazy stuff. It’s pushed us to keep asking to see things, over and over and over. And at least for me, it grew my faith. Faith to ask. The book of James talks about asking God in faith. James 1:5-6 says:

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given to him. But let him ask in faith, with no doubting….

James talks about asking for wisdom, but I think it applies to more things in life than wisdom. There’s so many things I could say about these verses, but the reason why I mention them is because every time I read them, it just reminds me to keep asking. No matter what, just ask. And keep asking.

So where ever you are in the world when you read this, just know that I’m over here in Switzerland stoked about what God’s doing here and asking Him to do more crazy things.

Leave a Reply

