Projects

It’s been just over five months since Ben and I were married.

Time flies when you’re having fun, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s been fun to see the pattern we’ve started to adopt in our life together. It started pretty soon after we were married. I don’t remember who started it or why, but all of the sudden we had this idea of having “projects”.ย This is what I mean when I use the word projects: Most couples adopt a dog or a cat to have something to take care of and share. It gives them something to do together, something to talk about, something to love. (My friends and I would also joke that it was to keep them occupied so they didn’t feel the need to have a baby. And maybe this is true. I’ll let you decide. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) Whatever the reason, it’s a project of sorts. It might add the possibility of more work and responsibility, but that gives us as humans a sense of belonging, right? It gives our lives some strange sense of meaning.

So, like I mentioned, most couples would opt for a pet.

A normal pet. Like a dog. Or a cat. Or a fish if you’re not into commitments.

But those aren’t the projects we chose.

Apparently, we’re not normal enough for that.

It all started one day – I don’t even remember when – when Ben just decided it was time to try something new. So he decided to try baking bread. But… normal bread didn’t cut it. And so we embarked on a journey that has taken us much farther than I think either one of us realized it would.

Sourdough bread.

That’s where this all started. We just wanted to try it at first. Just see if it worked. Just see if we liked it. Well. Turns out it does work and we do, in fact, love it. So the obsession continues. Then we started to look into the health benefits of sourdough bread versus regular yeast-leavened bread. And when we learned about all of the good bacterias and probiotics in the sourdough, that was it. We were solidly hooked.

sour-dough
Benjamin’s Dutch Oven Sourdough bread made with home-milled flour

Since then, it’s morphed into so much more than just bread! We’ve recently started fermenting a ginger bug which we plan on using to make ginger beer – a homemade version of something similar to ginger ale soda. And yet, much like a sourdough starter, the obsession keeps growing bigger and bigger. Lately we’re researching kombucha and trying to figure out how to start that fermenting and brewing process. Our greatest struggle at the moment is finding containers large enough to fulfill our needs. The next issue is going to be one of storage space, but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.

It’s just interesting, if you ask me. I never thought I would turn into some strange hippie-health-nut and yet here I am. I’ll be the first to tell you that sourdough bread is way better for your gut than the normal yeast bread we always eat. And then I’ll probably end up on a tangent about probiotics and “gut health” which will lead into me talking about kombucha and how I really want to make my own and that will then lead me to tell you that we’ve settled for a ginger bug over a scoby. (Some of you may have no idea what that last word means. I won’t bore you with the details. It’s just the bacteria culture that makes kombucha kombucha.) And for some strange reason, this makes me excited.

ginger-bug
Ginger Bug – a mix of water, grated ginger, and sugar. Feed it every day for about a week until fizzy and then start making pop!

Ben and I both have been pretty baffled at why we find all of this so interesting. The conclusion we have come to is this: We’re searching for the real deal. Nowadays, food is always so processed. Sure, it’s probably a bit less processed in Europe than in the States, but either way. It’s not natural. And that’s not to say that we can’t eat that stuff, (trust me… we definitely still do!) but this hunger for real and raw food has grown inside of us. So we’ve started exploring the old traditions. Fermentation is one of the oldest forms of food preservation. Sourdough is how people made bread rise in the “olden days” before yeast was in the picture. And in that we find some sense of reality. Call it whatever you will, but for us it’s a journey to explore a natural reality and have lots of fun along the way!

Amongst this bacteria-growing frenzy, I also adopted another project. One that is by far much less maintenance.

Cacti.

ralph
Meet Ralph. He’s known as a “bunny cactus” and has grown so big!

Our house is now inhabited by four cacti and four beautiful succulents. And yes, they have names.

And no. I’m not ashamed of that. ๐Ÿ™‚

We all have our projects! Hobbies or activities or little lives that we want to take care of. It keeps life interesting! So that begs the question,

What are your projects? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

